The Old Carob Mill was built in 1900, at a time when carobs were a major export of the island, and were used to make a wide variety of products such as photographic film plates, medicines, sweets and chocolates.
Divided into a complex of two distinct areas, the first area of the Old Carob Mill consists of the restored Carob Mill – where the machinery used in processing the carobs is preserved and displayed – and the second area houses the Evagoras Lanitis Centre – an arts and exhibition area.
The Museum room displays all the tools and machinery once used for this commercial activity. From the sorting funnels to the scales and the needles used to sew the sacks, visitors can peruse the entire process once used to prepare this precious cargo, from start to finish.
The carob trade was the living of the people in a large part of the Limassol countryside and villages such as Anoyira and Ipsonas were 2 of the main carob producing areas. The produce was referred to as “black gold”, because of the great value of carobs.
Vasilissis Street (behind Limassol Mediaeval Castle), tel +357 25342123.
Bus Nr 30 Any bus stop at seafront road . Get off at the old port and go behind the Limassol Castle.